The Royal Highland Fusiliers were formed in 1959 by the amalgamation of The Royal Scots Fusiliers (21st) and The Highland Light Infantry (71st, 73rd and 74th). As part of the British Army’s restructuring for future operations,The six Scottish regiments amalgamated to form The Royal Regiment of Scotland on 31 March 2006; and on this day, 1st Battalion, The Royal Highland Fusiliers became The Royal Highland Fusiliers, 2nd Battalion The Royal Regiment of Scotland.
Read more about the fascinating history of our Regiment on the history pages of the website.
We are delighted to announce that the Royal Highland Fusiliers Museum is now fully open.
Opening hours & times are as follows:
Tuesdays to Fridays (inclusive)
• 10.00 - 15.30
Although, these will be the core opening days/timings for the Museum, it is possible that, on occasion, the Museum may have to be closed at short notice.
If such an occasion should arise, details will be advertised on the Museum’s Facebook page (The Royal Highland Fusiliers Museum) and we will aim to give as much notice as possible.
The staff look forward to welcoming you to the Museum – often called Glasgow’s Hidden Gem. n!
0141 332 5639
518 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow, G2 3LW, Scotland